DWC Owners Forum

Author Topic: first job  (Read 2661 times)

Tom S

• View Profile
first job
« on: June 09, 2012, 05:48:16 AM »
just finished this coat rack.

Burl

• Administrator
  • Woodworking - patience = firewood
    • View Profile
Re: first job
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2012, 04:30:07 AM »
Tom
Very nice. Would you mind e-mailing the picture to me and can I add it to my web gallery of customers pictures?
Thanks for sharing.

Burl

woodward

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2012, 05:36:57 PM »
that is so very pretty i am just learning so Im not sure how you made it look
like that

Tom S

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2012, 06:30:41 PM »
ITS JUST RED OAK WHICH IS NOT THE BEST TO USE FOR THIS APP. LOTS OF SANDING AND A COAT OF GOLDEN OAK STAIN WITH A CLOTH (RAG) THAT WON'T LEAVE PARTICALES. 5 COATS OF GLOSS POLY. AND 0000 STEEL WOOL. PLUS A LOT OF SWEAT. LOL 

Scott G

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2013, 09:52:36 AM »
How long of cnc machine time did it take to carve the rack?

Tom S

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2013, 10:05:12 AM »
it took 3 hrs. roughed out with a 1/4 ball and 1/8 ball for the finish. roughing was set at 35 ipm. and 25 for the finish. it is 36 in. long total and the profile is 34. made 4 of these and i just finished a couple smaller profiles of a ranch scene and a stage coach. i'll have to put those pics up. they are not finished cause the guy is going to inlay them and do the finishing himself. thanks for looking, tom

Scott G

• View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2013, 11:00:41 AM »
Any idea where I can find a g-code or nc file on a coastal, tropical, or beach scene?  I'm not advanced enough to vectorizing or whatever to enter a .jpg and carve it out.  I hardly have the time to learn much about the cnc itself.  I work 16-18 hrs. per day.

Tom S

• View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2013, 11:58:47 AM »